The Edublog Awards 2005

Welcome to the second international Edublog Awards – an annual event that recognises and promotes excellence in the field of edublogging.

This year I’m extremely pleased to be taking over the event co-ordination from your host last year, James Farmer. I’m very much looking forward to lively community debate and contributions this years awards, which have changed somewhat from last years format, in response to feedback. I hope to do as good a job as James and hope that the community will be positive about my management style!

First of all, the categories. This year there are ten:

* Most innovative edublogging project, service or programme

* Best newcomer

* Most influential post, resource or presentation

* Best designed/most beautiful edublog

* Best library/librarian blog

* Best teacher blog

* Best audio and/or visual blog

* Best example/ case study of use of weblogs within teaching and learning

* Best group blog

* Best individual blog

There will also be a Best of the Best award, which will be open to all winners of the 2005 Edublog Award Categories.

Nominations and Rules:

This year the nomination process is also different:

Nominations will not be made publicly this year, and all submissions will be treated as confidential. Instead, you are asked to email in your nominations.

While everyone is eligable to vote, only current edubloggers are invited to nominate contenders. If you keep a blog, and produce content which is related to education (even if you post about your haircut a lot too), you are an edublogger and are eligable to nominate. Please include your blog url with your nominations.

Each participant is able to make a maximum of two nominations per category. Self-nomination is perfectly acceptable, but you are encouraged to nominate the edublogs that you genuinely believe to be outstanding examples of practice – the blogs you refer others too. Please list your nominations in order of preference. You may enter the same person or blog for more than one award.

Nominations are open from 21 November to 4 December. When you have decided on your nominations for all of the categories, you can cut and paste the template provided into the body of an email, complete it and send to the awards email address.

The four most popular, eligible nominations in each category will be available to vote on from 5 December to 17 December. Winners will be announced live at a special broadcast awards ceremony held on 18 December 1500 GMT.

Good luck – and see you all at the awards ceremony!

Josie Fraser, EdTechUK